Annette Island changes time zone


The Metlakatla Indian Community on Annette Island in Alaska has decided to join Alaska's main time zone. The time zone change coincides with the end of daylight saving time in North America.

Annette Island was until 1 November 2015 the only location in Alaska to observe UTC-8 all year.

Although geographically stretching over three time zones, most of Alaska observes the same time, alternating between Alaska Standard Time (UTC-9) and Alaska Daylight Time (UTC-8).

The western Aleutian Islands are one hour behind the rest of the state.

More time zone news

24 Temmuz 2024, Çarşamba, hafta 30